SEO Tools
Frase vs. Surfer for Freelance Bloggers: What Each Plan Really Costs Per Article
If you freelance as a blogger, content optimization tools are an easy thing to overpay for. The two names that come up most are Frase and Surfer, and their pricing pages do not count the same thing. Frase counts articles. Surfer counts documents. I lined up the official pricing pages for both, plus Writesonic and Rytr as reference points, and worked out what each tool costs per article at 4, 10 and 20 posts a month.
The pain: you pay out of pocket, and the meters are confusing
When a company pays for a content tool, nobody checks whether the plan is oversized. When you pay for it yourself, every $50 a month matters, and it has to be earned back by writing more or charging more.
The trouble is that these tools do not sell the same unit. One plan gives you "10 articles a month." Another gives you "120 documents" with no time period attached. A third spends most of its pricing page on tracking how your brand shows up in AI search answers and gives you "15 AI articles" almost as a side line. A headline price of $39 or $49 or $79 tells you very little until you know how many posts it covers.
So the question I wanted to answer is narrow: if I write 4, 10 or 20 articles a month, which plan does each tool force me onto, and what does that work out to per article?
How I compared
I did not use any of these tools for this article. Everything below comes from the vendors' own pricing pages, which I read and copied on 2026-10-16. I can tell you what the price list says. I cannot tell you how the software feels to use, how good its content scores are, or whether its suggestions will actually help a post rank.
I used four criteria:
- The unit the plan is metered in. Articles, documents, AI articles, or characters.
- The price of the entry plan that fits a solo freelancer, billed monthly and billed yearly, where both are published.
- What happens at the cap. Does the tool stop, or let you pay for extra?
- What you can try before paying.
The four tools: Frase and Surfer as the main pair, Writesonic and Rytr as reference points. Writesonic is a useful reference because its pricing page now centers on AI-search visibility tracking, and it still includes AI articles each month. Rytr is a useful reference because it sits at the cheap end of AI writing. Rytr's pricing page lists character limits, plagiarism checks and tones, and I did not see content scoring or audit items on it, so treat it as a price floor rather than a like-for-like alternative.
Comparison table
Pricing checked on 2026-10-16. All prices are USD per month, before tax. "Yearly" means the monthly price when billed annually.
| Tool | Entry plan (monthly / yearly) | What the entry plan meters | When you hit the cap | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frase | Starter: $49 / $39 | 10 articles and 50 audit pages a month, 1 seat, 1 domain | Starter stops at the limit; no overage option | 7 days, no credit card |
| Surfer | Discovery: not published / $49 | 120 documents (the page does not say per what period), 10 tracked pages | Not stated on the page | A "Start for Free" button; length not stated |
| Writesonic | Starter: not published / $79 | 15 AI articles and 10 site audits a month, 1 user | Not stated for Starter (Growth can add 20 articles for $100) | Free trial, no card; length not stated |
| Rytr | Unlimited: $7.50 (page does not say whether this is monthly or yearly billing) | Unlimited generation; 50 plagiarism checks a month | Not applicable | Free plan, 10,000 characters a month |
Three details are worth pausing on.
Frase publishes both prices. Starter is $49 month to month or $39 billed yearly. Professional is $129 or $103, and Scale is $299 or $239. The page says yearly billing takes 20% off.
Surfer and Writesonic only show a yearly-billing price. Neither page I read lists a monthly price. Surfer's page does show "Save $120" next to Discovery, which hints that a month-to-month price sits somewhere above $49, but that is my arithmetic and not a published figure, so I have not used it anywhere in the tables. Writesonic's page is the same: the $79 for Starter is shown on a yearly basis and no monthly price appears. If you want to pay month to month, I could not confirm that either tool offers a monthly price at all, so check at checkout.
Surfer's payment terms matter more than its sticker price. The page I read says annual plans are paid up front in one go, and that credits on annual plans reset yearly or when you change plan. At $49 a month, that is $588 charged at once. For someone paying out of pocket, that is a bigger commitment than the "$49" suggests.
The original part: cost per article at 4, 10 and 20 articles a month
Here is the table I wanted to find. For each volume, I picked the cheapest plan whose documented limit covers it, then divided the monthly price by the number of articles I would actually publish.
| Articles per month¹ | Frase (monthly billing) | Frase (yearly billing) | Surfer (yearly billing only)² | Writesonic (yearly billing only) | Rytr Unlimited |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | Starter: $49 = $12.25 each | Starter: $39 = $9.75 each | Discovery: $49 = $12.25 each | Starter: $79 = $19.75 each | $7.50 = $1.88 each |
| 10 | Starter: $49 = $4.90 each | Starter: $39 = $3.90 each | Discovery: $49 = $4.90 each | Starter: $79 = $7.90 each | $7.50 = $0.75 each |
| 20 | Professional: $129 = $6.45 each | Professional: $103 = $5.15 each | Standard: $99 = $4.95 each | Basic: $199 = $9.95 each | $7.50 = $0.38 each |
Yearly commitments behind those monthly figures: Frase Starter $468 a year and Professional $1,236; Surfer Discovery $588 and Standard $1,188; Writesonic Starter $948 and Basic $2,388.
¹ How the numbers are calculated. Cost per article = the plan's monthly price ÷ the number of articles published that month (not the plan's maximum). Plan choice: the cheapest plan whose documented limit is at least the article count. Frase: Starter covers up to 10 articles a month, Professional up to 40. Writesonic: Starter covers 15 AI articles a month, Basic 25. Yearly commitments = yearly-billing monthly price × 12 (Frase Starter $39 × 12 = $468; Professional $103 × 12 = $1,236; Surfer Discovery $49 × 12 = $588; Standard $99 × 12 = $1,188; Writesonic Starter $79 × 12 = $948; Basic $199 × 12 = $2,388). Totals exclude tax.
² The Surfer column rests on an assumption. Surfer's page lists "Create or Optimize 120 Documents" for Discovery and 360 for Standard and Pro, and does not say whether that is per month or per year. The FAQ says annual-plan credits reset yearly, so I took the cautious reading: the allowance is a yearly pool, so 120 documents is 10 a month and 360 is 30 a month. Under that reading, Discovery covers 4 and 10 articles a month (10 exactly, with no spare), and 20 articles a month needs Standard. If the documents turn out to be monthly, Discovery would cover all three volumes, and the 20-article cell would drop to $49 ÷ 20 = $2.45 per article. I also assumed one document equals one article. If "create" and then "optimize" each use a document, the numbers shift again. Surfer's monthly price was not published, so there is no monthly-billing column.
Rytr is the odd one out. Its generation is unlimited, so the per-article figure is just the flat price divided by volume. It is a fair price floor, but it is not the same kind of product.
What the table says
- At 4 articles a month, nothing here is cheap per post. Frase on yearly billing is $9.75 per article, Surfer $12.25, Writesonic $19.75. A low-volume freelancer pays mostly for the plan, not the posts. If you publish four times a month, the question is whether the scoring is worth roughly $40 to $80 a month to you.
- At 10 articles a month, Frase and Surfer converge. Both land at $4.90 per article when Frase is billed monthly and Surfer is billed yearly. Put Frase on yearly billing and it drops to $3.90. Writesonic's Starter, with 15 AI articles, is $7.90 at this volume.
- At 20 articles a month, the picture depends on Surfer's fine print. On the cautious reading, Surfer Standard at $99 is $4 cheaper per month than Frase Professional on yearly billing ($103). On the other reading, Surfer is far cheaper. This is the most uncertain cell in the whole table, so I would not choose a plan on it without checking Surfer's fair-use and document terms.
- Frase Starter's limit is a cliff. Publish an 11th article in a month and Starter has no overage option (the page says it stops at the limit). You would have to move to Professional, which is $129 month to month. At 11 articles that is $129 ÷ 11 = $11.73 each.
Best pick for three kinds of readers
You write about 4 to 10 posts a month and want the lowest entry price. Among Frase, Surfer and Writesonic, Frase Starter has the lowest yearly-billing price: $39, against $49 for Surfer Discovery and $79 for Writesonic Starter. If you want to try it first, Frase advertises a 7-day free trial with no credit card. The trial runs on Professional-level features but caps you at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and 3 seats, so you can test the editor without a card on file.
You want one workspace for 10 to 30 posts a month and you are fine paying for a year at a time. Surfer's Discovery and Standard plans are worth a close look. Standard adds rank-drop alerts, one-click optimization, WordPress and Google Docs integrations and a plagiarism check, according to the page, and it is $99 a month on yearly billing. If your drafts live in Google Docs, that integration line may matter more to you than a few dollars of difference. I only compared integration lists as they appear on Surfer's page, so check the others for yours.
You mostly want a cheap AI first draft, not SERP-based scoring. Rytr's Unlimited plan at $7.50 is in a different price class. Writesonic is a reasonable middle point if you also care about seeing how your brand shows up in AI answers from ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, because that is what its pricing page is built around. But if you came here to compare Frase and Surfer, notice that Writesonic is the most expensive of those three per article at all three volumes in my table.
If you work for several clients' sites, read the limits row carefully before you buy. Frase lists 1 domain on Starter and 5 on Professional. The page I read does not explain exactly what a "domain" covers in each feature, so confirm that against how you actually work.
Drawbacks worth knowing
I would rather you hear these from me than find them after signing up.
- Frase Starter caps out at 10 articles and has no overage option. The jump to Professional is from $39 to $103 on yearly billing, or $49 to $129 month to month. That is a big step if your volume sits just above 10.
- Frase's pricing page does not define "article." It lists an article count separately from audit pages and from "AI generations" (25 a month on Starter, 100 on Professional, 350 on Scale), and the page does not say exactly what each one counts. If you lean on AI drafting, the generations meter could run out first: 25 generations across 10 articles is 2.5 per article on Starter.
- Much of the table is about AI-search tracking. Frase's plans include AI prompt tracking (50 on Starter) and AI-visibility engines. If all you want is to write and optimize blog posts, you are paying for a bundle that includes things you may never open.
- Frase's free trial is small. Five articles in seven days is enough to test the editor, but not enough to test a full month of your workflow.
- Surfer's pricing is harder to read. No monthly price is published, the document allowance has no stated period, and the trial length is missing. The annual-up-front payment is a real commitment for a solo freelancer.
- Pricing pages change. Other sites still list old Frase plans (a $14.99 Solo plan, a $44.99 Basic plan) and old Writesonic tiers. The official pages are the source here, and the numbers in this article are a snapshot, not a promise.
- I could not verify everything. I left out Surfer's seat and brand counts because the page's column labels were not clear, and I did not test any of these products.
Try Frase
If you publish somewhere between 4 and 10 posts a month and want to pay as little as possible to try content optimization, Frase is the one I would look at first. It has the lowest yearly-billing entry price of the three paid tools in my table (Rytr is cheaper, but a different kind of product), publishes a monthly price, and offers a 7-day trial without a card. Try the trial on a real draft before you decide, and compare the 11th-article cliff against your own writing calendar.
If you would rather weigh the main alternative yourself, here is Surfer. Its Standard plan is the one to compare once you pass 10 articles a month, and its "Start for Free" button is worth clicking to see what the trial includes.
Sources
All pages below were read on 2026-10-16. Prices change; check the page before you buy.
- Frase pricing: https://www.frase.io/pricing (checked 2026-10-16)
- Surfer pricing: https://surferseo.com/pricing/ (checked 2026-10-16)
- Writesonic pricing: https://writesonic.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-16)
- Rytr pricing: https://rytr.me/pricing (checked 2026-10-16)